Welcome to the Living Arts School!

Located in Boulder County, The Living Arts School is Colorado’s folk school.  A folk school, also known as a craft school, is a place for “folks” of all ages to pursue a unique and life-changing education–one that focuses on the renewal of traditional living skills, crafts and music.

Follow Us, Like Us, Tweet Us, Instagram Us!

Social Media

Live on the Radio: KGNU Story on the Folk School

Blacksmith shop

An interview with LAS Director, Elizabeth Uhrich & KGNU Reporter, Caterina Zischke-Rincon

It’s worth a listen!  Check out the story here.

 

AUGUST WORKSHOPS & COURSES

SalveHerbal Medicine: Infused Oils & Salves

Sun. Aug 3, 2-4pm

View Details

 

IMG_1060Homeschool Enrichment Program Open House

Wed. Aug 6, 10:30am

View Details

 

ChickenIntro to Backyard Chicken Keeping

Sat. Aug 9, 10am-12pm

View Details

 

StorytellerStorytelling & Song for Young Children

Sun. Aug 17, 1:30-4:30pm

View Details

 

FuroshikiFuroshiki: Origami for Cloth

Sat. Aug 23, 10-11:30am

View Details

 

Tiramisu

Viva Italia! Rural Italian Cooking

Sun. Aug 24, 1-4pm

View Details

 

bitters (1)Sipping Vinegars & Bitters

Sat. Aug 30, 2-4pm

View Details

 

calligraphyBeautiful Writing: A Calligraphy Taster

Sun. Aug 31, 1-4pm

View Details

 

SEPTEMBER WORKSHOPS & COURSES

IRBC-Growlers-300x170Home Brewing an IPA: With the Industrial Revolution Brewing Company

Sat. Sept 6, 9am-12pm

View Details

 

Road BikeRoadside Bike Repair 101

Sat. Sept 6, 2-4pm

View Details

 


KombuchaBrew Your Own Kombucha with Rowdy Mermaid Kombucha

Sun. Sept 7, 2-4pm

View Details

 

Children PlayingYoung Makers Homeschool Program (6-9 yr olds)

Begins Mon. Sept 8, 1:30-4pm

View Details

 

Backyard BlacksmithingYoung Apprentices Homeschool Program (10-14 yr olds)

Begins Tues. Sept 9, 1:30-4:30pm

View Details

 

Triangle BellTraditional Blacksmithing: Make a Triangle Bell & Striker

Sat. Sept 13, 9am-4pm

View Details

 

MushClusterMushroom Identification: A Mycological Field Guide

Sun. Sept 14, 9am-1pm

View Details

 

1024px-Färbersud,_Bad_Windsheim,_IMG_0437_edit

Dyeing Yarn and the Meaning of Colors

Sat. Sept 20, 10am-3pm

View Details

 

Autumn TreeNeedle Felt an Autumn Tapestry

Sat. Sept 27, 10am-4pm

View Details

 

EstablisGrape Vineh a Backyard Vineyard: Basics of Viticulture

Sun. Sept 28, 2-5pm

View Details

 

OCTOBER WORKSHOPS & COURSES

Ozuke KrautFermentation Magic with Mara & Willow of Ozuke’

Sat. Oct 4, 2-4:30pm

View Details